Carousel is not a function in index.php

UF newbie here, just completed a UF installation, but I’m getting an error “carousel is not a function” when I try to test the site. There’s a closed issue (#608) on github, the solution refers to updated documentation, and the need to install Bower. The only place I see Bower referenced is in the section on homestead. Must I install homestead to run UF? I re-ran the ‘bakery bake’ process, and it appears that bower did install, but I still get this error. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

You are correct, Bakery should automatically install Bower for you (though we will be getting away from Bower in v4.2).

You do not need to install Homestead, but you do need to have a working stack installed. Are you getting any CSS styling at all on the front page? If it’s completely unstyled, then likely either none of your Bower dependencies were installed, or your webserver is not set up to forward all requests to index.php. Which webserver (Apache, nginx, etc) are you using?

Thanks for the response Alex.

My environment is Apache 2.4, PHP 7.2.5, PostgreSQL 9.6 running on Windows 10 locally (no public access). It’s working in the respect that a small development project I’ve been working on (as a means to learn Apache, PHP/PDO, Javascript, JQuery, etc., etc.) works. However I admit I’m a complete neophyte to web development; each of these packages was installed using the stock installers – not the WAMP distribution – with only very minor configuration to insure all the piece parts fit together. Whether that constitutes a “working stack” is debatable. (It works for me, but… ;))